LibGuides: Civics & Citizenship: Introduction

SEARCH THE LIBRARY CATALOGUE

USEFUL DATABASES

Alpha History This link opens in a new window Alpha History is an Australian-based site with writers and editors around the world. We produce free history content for teachers and students worldwide. Our website contains thousands of articles and resources on 11 different periods and events - from the American Revolution to the Troubles in Northern Ireland.
Ancient & Medieval History Online This link opens in a new window Presents the full scope of world history from prehistory through the 1500s, with special topic centres on key civilisations and regions. login details: Username: bialikcollege Password: library
Britannica School Edition This link opens in a new window Britannica School. Welcome to Britannica School, a safe, up-to-date, and age-appropriate information resource for Elementary, Middle, and High School. Discover encyclopedia articles, multimedia, primary sources, games, and other learning resources that support student research and reinforce curriculum standards.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window Explore this database of encyclopedias and reference sources within the Gale eBooks platform. For multidisciplinary research.
Gale in Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window Explore the most-studied topics including cultures, government, people, history, literature, and more.
Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window Uncover information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in world history from a variety of sources.
Issues & Controversies in History This link opens in a new window Covers World History from Antiquity to the present covering every region of the world with a broad range of topics, from slavery, empire, and revolution to race, gender, economy, and disease. Uses primary sources to analyse great events in world history, the database features hundreds of pro/con articles and thousands of primary sources. Every article is centred on original documents, with the goal of teaching students how to interpret primary sources, assess point of view, improve critical thinking skills, and understand the forces that have shaped history over the past 5,000 years. Please note special article, Australia and Its Policy on Indigenous People
Trial Username: bialikcollege
Trial Password: library
Modern World History Online This link opens in a new window World history from the mid-15th century to the present, featuring thousands of documents, articles, timelines, images, videos, and maps. Includes access to the Infobase History Research Centre allowing simultaneous searching across all subscribed Infobase history services.
Trial Username: bialikcollege
Trial Password: library
World History Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window We know how challenging teaching history can be. We've gathered and created resources that you can trust – you can run with them as they are or easily adapt them to your students. Explore our resources below to make your teaching easier.

INDIGENOUS WARNING

WARNING: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander viewers are warned that the following program may contain images and voices of deceased persons.

WELCOME TO CIVICS & CITIZENSHIP

This page has been specifically created to assist you with your findings about this particular topic.

Remember to use a range of resources. Databases, ClickView, Gale eBooks. Also check out ABC Education, they have amazing resources.

When using the Library catalogue or Databases use "Keywords". Don't ask questions as they don't operate the same a Google.

Keyword definition: noun. A word that serves as a key, as to the meaning of another word, a sentence, passage, or the like.

If your particular keyword doesn't bring up results, think more broadly.

Books can be eBooks they do not have to be physical books. Although we do have a good selection of resources available in the library.

You will find books on the shelves at the following numbers:

320.494, 323.60994, 321.87.

Ask a Librarian for help to find more resources.

Information Specialist Lead

Deb Brown

She/Her

Email Me

Contact:

Sub Contractor

Subjects: Astronomy, Biomes, Climate Change, eAudio Books, eBooks, Environmental Issues, Indigenous Australians, Memoirs, Migration, Non Fiction, Science, Text study, World War 2