LibGuides: Frontier Wars: Introduction

SEARCH THE LIBRARY CATALOGUE

USEFUL DATABASES

Use these databases to broaden your search.

Google is great, Databases are better.

Don't ask a question, use your keywords: Mabo, reconciliation, Black Lives Matter.

Britannica School Edition This link opens in a new window Britannica School. Welcome to Britannica School, a safe, up-to-date, and age-appropriate information resource for Elementary, Middle, and High School. Discover encyclopedia articles, multimedia, primary sources, games, and other learning resources that support student research and reinforce curriculum standards.
Gale in Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window
Explore the most-studied topics including cultures, government, people, history, literature, and more.
Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window
Uncover information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in world history from a variety of sources.
Issues & Controversies in History This link opens in a new window Covers World History from Antiquity to the present covering every region of the world with a broad range of topics, from slavery, empire, and revolution to race, gender, economy, and disease. Uses primary sources to analyse great events in world history, the database features hundreds of pro/con articles and thousands of primary sources. Every article is centred on original documents, with the goal of teaching students how to interpret primary sources, assess point of view, improve critical thinking skills, and understand the forces that have shaped history over the past 5,000 years. Please note special article, Australia and Its Policy on Indigenous People
Trial Username: bialikcollege
Trial Password: library
REDeLearn This link opens in a new window

INDIGENOUS WARNING

WARNING: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander viewers are warned that the following program may contain images and voices of deceased persons.

LET'S BEGIN

Develop two (2) front pages for a newspaper:

1:) A 200 word news article that explains one conflict that occurred between First Australian communities and the colonisers from 1788 to 1928.

2:) A 200 word news article- that represents a current issue that is faced by Australia's First Nations communities as a result of colonisation. Reflect on why the issue is alarming in our current world. Include a Primary source that represents the issue.

Use the resources available in the library or this LibGuide to build your article.

Having difficulty location information when searching Databases?

Use a Boolean search,

Librarian

Peter Horacek

Frontier Wars: Introduction

SEARCH THE LIBRARY CATALOGUE

USEFUL DATABASES

INDIGENOUS WARNING

LET'S BEGIN

Librarian

COURSE QR CODE